Academics Committee


Review proposals and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the creation, suspensions, and cancellation of academic programs, policies, degrees, and courses.


  • Matthew Heitzman (CAS, English), Chair
  • Foram Bhukhanwala (School of Education)
  • Michael Dwyer (CAS, Media & Communications)
  • Jodi Freeman (CHS, Medical Science)
  • Daniel Pieczkolon (CAS, English)
  • Michelle Reale (Landman Library)
  • Emily Marshall (CAS, Computer Science & Mathematics) (Non-Senator Appointed Member)
  • Sarah Woldoff (School of Education) (Non-Senator Appointed Member)


Academics Committee Correspondence

All proposals and inquiries for the Academics Committee should now be sent to

AUC Curriculum Directors and Coordinators

Please contact the following members of the Steering Committee if you have any further questions about specific areas of the Curriculum.

  • Director of First-Year Academic Experience: Rachel Collins (English),
  • Director of University Seminars: Elizabeth Ferrell (Visual and Performing Arts),, x4720
  • Director of Global Connections: Jojo Lucena (Modern Languages),, x4038
  • Director of University Writing:  Jennifer Matisoff (English),, x4029
  • Visual Literacy Coordinator: Abbey Ryan (Visual and Performing Arts), , x2133
  • Quantitative Reasoning Coordinator: Megan Wright (Biology),, 267.620.4827

The AUC Steering Committee is coordinated by the Provost Office, led by College of Arts and Sciences Associate Dean Abbey Ryan.


Meeting Minutes

September 17 2020: Agenda | Minutes

October 6 2020: Agenda | Minutes

October 27 2020: Agenda | Minutes

October 29 2020: Agenda | Minutes

November 3 2020: Agenda | Minutes

December 1 2020: Agenda | Minutes

February 2  2021: Agenda | Minutes

February 23  2021: Agenda | Minutes

March 23  2021: Agenda | Minutes

April 6  2021: Agenda | Minutes

May 4  2021: Agenda | Minutes